top of page

Tempted by Texture

As humans, our sense of touch is controlled by a network of receptors on the skin and their corresponding nerve endings that transmit information to us about the sensations that we feel. We can sense hot and cold, hard and soft, smooth and grainy. How often is it, though, that we define what emotions or feelings we associate with these certain textures?

I believe that textures can evoke emotions.

I am intrigued by how the textures of the items in an environment can determine the mood or atmosphere of that place. I surround myself with a variety of textures. My bed sheets are jersey (the texture of a t-shirt that you’ve washed one too many times), my comforter is fluffy and light with a raised swiss dot design, the textures of my throw pillows range from a shaggy faux-fur to stitched polyester. To me, this combination of textures feels inviting and safe.

Think about your favorite place. Does your liking of this place have anything to do with the “vibe” or the atmosphere? If your favorite place is a beach you visit each summer, do the textures of the sand or the water have anything to do with it? When you touch the sand, does it provoke happiness, or perhaps nostalgia?

This intersection of texture and emotion is what inspired my film, Red Dust. Red Dust utilizes Holi powder as a prop. This powder has a very distinct sensory feel. The powder granules are fine, even more so than sand, slightly chalky and a tinge greasy (definitely leaves a coating on your hands and on the floor). This particular texture inspired my movement generation as a choreographer. The intersection of the color of Holi powder and emotion was also an impetus in my film. Per the name, the powder is red; a color often associated with passion, energy, strength, danger or desire. Again, these associations inspired choreographic choices and motifs.

As a group, Synaesthetic Dance Company aims to fuse the senses through our works. My hope in creating Red Dust is that audience members, too, will experience the intersection of texture, color and emotion that is portrayed by the dancers in my film.

bottom of page